Descript cost per user, and the full three-seat total

Table of Contents
Descript is priced per person, not per workspace. On Creator, the sticker price is $24 per person per month on annual billing, and the plan holds up to three seats โ so a three-person team pays $72 a month, or $864 a year, billed up front. Prices verified on Descript’s pricing page, 7 September 2026.
How many people can share one Descript plan
Descript sets a seat ceiling per plan, and it decides more of the bill than the tier choice does. Hobbyist carries one seat, Creator one to three, and Business up to five, per Descript’s pricing page retrieved 7 September 2026. Enterprise is quoted by sales and publishes no seat figure.
๐ต Verified: Hobbyist 1 seat, Creator 1โ3 seats, Business up to 5 seats โ Descript’s pricing page, retrieved 7 September 2026.
Per person or per account
Per person, on every paid tier. Descript labels each rate “per person / month” and describes Creator and Business seats as billed separately, retrieved 7 September 2026.
The ceiling that forces a plan change
A drive cannot hold more editors than its plan allows. A fourth editor cannot join a Creator drive; the plan changes, or that person goes without a seat. If you have not chosen a tier yet, the full cost breakdown across every Descript tier covers all five.

What Descript costs for two, three, four and five people
Three Creator seats cost $72 a month on annual billing, verified 7 September 2026. The table multiplies Descript’s published per-person rates by seat count โ Descript publishes the rate and the ceiling, never the total.
| Editors | Creator, annual | Creator, monthly | Business, annual | Business, monthly | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2 | $48/mo | $70/mo | $100/mo | $130/mo | 7 Sept 2026 |
| 3 | $72/mo | $105/mo | $150/mo | $195/mo | 7 Sept 2026 |
| 4 | Not available | Not available | $200/mo | $260/mo | 7 Sept 2026 |
| 5 | Not available | Not available | $250/mo | $325/mo | 7 Sept 2026 |

๐๏ธ Pricing verified 7 September 2026. Software pricing changes frequently โ confirm on the vendor’s site before purchasing.
The per-person rates behind the table come from Descript’s pricing page, retrieved 7 September 2026: Creator $24 annual and $35 monthly, Business $50 annual and $65 monthly. Every total above is App Compare HQ’s arithmetic from those published parts.
Why “not available” is not a price
Creator stops at three editors. The blank cells are not a higher charge โ the seat does not exist on that plan at any price.
Annual against monthly on the same headcount
Annual is the lower rate on both tiers and is charged for the whole term at the start of the cycle, per Descript’s billing guide retrieved 7 September 2026.
What multiplies with each seat and what doesn’t
Media minutes and AI credits are allocated per editor seat and pooled at drive level. Descript’s usage guide states that the total allocated to a drive depends on how many editor seats are on the subscription, that each seat adds to the shared pool, and that any editor can spend it, retrieved 7 September 2026.

Three Creator seats therefore carry 5,400 media minutes and 2,400 AI credits a month in one shared pool. That multiplication is ours, from Descript’s published per-seat allowances on 7 September 2026.
What does not multiply
Descript’s pricing page lists recording session hours per drive rather than per editor โ 15 hours a month on Creator, retrieved 7 September 2026. The seat-multiplier rule in its usage guide names media minutes and AI credits only. Descript does not state that recording hours rise with seat count.
Who cannot spend the pool
Viewers and project-level editors cannot use features that require media minutes or AI credits, per the same guide retrieved 7 September 2026. Top-ups are pooled across the drive too and are sold only on Creator and Business; what a top-up costs and who can buy one carries the bundle rates.
๐ Why It Works This Way: A seat buys capacity into a shared pool, not a private allowance. One heavy editor on a three-seat drive can spend the month’s media minutes on their own, and the other two stop until the cycle resets.
What happens to the bill when you add or remove someone
A fourth editor cannot be added to a Creator drive, so the team moves to Business โ a $128-a-month step on annual billing for one person, the gap between the two rows in the table above, calculated 7 September 2026.
Adding an editor mid-cycle
The charge is prorated and co-termed with your existing term. Adding an editor three months into an annual term charges roughly 75% of the seat cost immediately, with the full annual seat billed at renewal, per Descript’s documentation on drive membership roles retrieved 7 September 2026.
Removing one does not undo the term
Upgrades apply immediately; downgrades take effect at the end of the current billing cycle, per Descript’s billing guide retrieved 7 September 2026. Cancellation timing and the refund window sit in the pillar rather than here.
โ ๏ธ This Costs You: Descript’s documentation states that downgrading an editor to a viewer releases that seat for reassignment, and that downgrades take effect at the end of the billing cycle. It does not state that a seat removed mid-term is refunded. Reassign the seat to the next person rather than expecting the money back.
The seat you can pay for twice
If the person you add already holds their own Descript plan, it is not merged or cancelled automatically โ they have to cancel it themselves, per the membership roles guide retrieved 7 September 2026. Two subscriptions run until they do.
A three-person team’s first-year cost
Three Creator seats on annual billing come to $864 for the year, charged at the start of the cycle, using the rate in the table above and Descript’s billing guide retrieved 7 September 2026. That figure is App Compare HQ’s arithmetic; Descript publishes no annual team total.

The seat you probably do not need to buy
Descript’s drive roles are editor, which is a paid seat, and viewer, which is free and can view and comment, per its membership roles guide retrieved 7 September 2026.
A producer who only leaves notes does not need a paid seat. On a three-person team where one person reviews rather than edits, that is two paid seats instead of three, and the review workflow is unchanged.
โ Do This: Count editors, not people. Anyone who never uploads media, never exports and never runs an AI tool can hold a free viewer seat instead of a paid one.
Run your own headcount through our Subscription Cost Calculator.
Creator, Business, or separate Hobbyist plans
Three editors have three options and one of them does not work. Business at three seats costs more than Creator at three seats and adds Brand Studio, translation proofread and priority support with an SLA, per Descript’s pricing page retrieved 7 September 2026.
Three Hobbyist plans cannot share a drive
Descript’s billing guide states that plans are drive-specific, and that holding a plan on your own drive does not give editor access to another drive โ to edit there, you must be added as an editor under that drive’s plan, retrieved 7 September 2026.
Three separate Hobbyist subscriptions are three separate workspaces. The lower monthly total buys three people who cannot open each other’s projects as editors.
If you are on a Legacy or Sunset plan
Allowances and purchase options differ on the plans Descript labels Legacy and Sunset. Who the price change actually reached covers what moved and when.
๐งพ Not Tested: We did not open a paid multi-seat Descript account, so we could not see the members tab, a seat invoice or a prorated charge. Every figure here comes from Descript’s public pricing page and help centre, captured 7 September 2026. Nothing above describes using the software.
Descript seat cost questions, answered
1. Is Descript priced per user or per account?
Per user. Every paid tier is priced per person per month and each editor is billed separately, verified 7 September 2026.
2. How much is Descript for 3 users?
Three Creator seats cost $72 a month on annual billing, or $864 for the year, verified 7 September 2026.
3. How many seats does the Descript Creator plan include?
Creator holds one to three editor seats, Business up to five, and Hobbyist one, verified 7 September 2026.
4. Do Descript media minutes multiply with each seat?
Yes. Each editor seat adds its allowance to a shared drive pool that any editor can spend, verified 7 September 2026.
5. Do Descript recording hours increase with more seats?
Descript lists recording session hours per drive and does not state that they rise with seat count, checked 7 September 2026.
6. Can someone comment on a Descript project without a paid seat?
Yes. A viewer seat is free and can view and comment, but cannot edit or spend the pool.
7. What does adding a Descript editor mid-cycle cost?
It is prorated. Adding one three months into an annual term charges roughly 75% of the seat immediately, verified 7 September 2026.
8. What happens when a Descript team outgrows the Creator plan?
The drive moves to Business. On annual billing that fourth editor is a $128-a-month step, calculated 7 September 2026.
9. Can three people each buy Descript Hobbyist and share one workspace?
No. Plans are drive-specific, so a Hobbyist plan gives no editor access to another person’s drive, verified 7 September 2026.
Before you subscribe
Two numbers decide this bill: how many people you have, and how many of them actually edit. Count the second one, because it is the only one Descript charges for.
Every figure on this page was checked against Descript’s pricing page and help centre on 7 September 2026.






One Comment